Summertiiiiime 🎶

So 2nd year exams are now over and as of yet all I’ve managed to achieve is getting horrendously drunk on a daily basis and in the stereotypical student way of telling the world ‘I am free, I am going to drink myself into oblivion to prove it’ – lone and behold I endured 7 days of feeling rougher than sandpaper.

Back home in ye olde Essex, with the sun BLARING at 1000 degrees (black jeans still stitched on) had me thinking about how the music I listen to changes depending on the season – unsurprisingly in  December The Pogues ‘The Fairytale of New York’ reruns over 50 times each day, alongside my embarrassingly long list of xmas tunes. Now unfortunately, and this really is a huge loss to my life, I cant stand to listen to or even think about so called ‘house music’. To say that it grinds my bones, twists my melons and stews me to the core is an understatement – Call me old fashioned but i’m struggling to find any decent musicianship, melodies or meaningful lyrics in house music. With such developments including ‘We Are FSTVL’, based in my own home town would you bloody believe it, there is the ever growing illusion that house music is the now image of summer – this is what I gather from multiple people my age who would rather listen to the duplicated playground rhymes of a ‘house classic’ rather than my ideal summer playlist (note: another unpopular opinion).

I’m currently sitting in my garden being bitten by every possible fly in every possible area. I mean, the sun is great, it clearly boosts peoples spirits, but as a half irish individual with a tendency to BURN rather than form a light summer glow (even when lathered in factor 50), I would  welcome a small cloud that hovered above me on request to prevent the ongoing turmoil of redness and feeling like an overbaked potato. 

FullSizeRenderIMG_2145FullSizeRender (1)

Although I wouldn’t quite call myself the summer grinch and do admit that the perks of summer somehow overlook the pAiN of burning flesh (i digress) – Picnics and BBQ’s with friends and family, cocktails after work in London, ice-cream vans bobbing about, singing your drunken heart out at festivals and thinking nothing in the world could possibly be better and HOLIDAYS (i’m booking spain and budapest this year – total hypocrite – i clearly follow the heat)

SO, I can feel myself scorching so will hurry up and make a lil summer playlist of some of the tunes that i feel TRIUMPH over other said ‘music’ in the modern world. 

ENJOY! :

The Beach Boys – Surfin USA (1963)

The Lovin’ Spoonful – Summer In The City (1965)

The Kinks – Sunny Afternoon (1966)

The Beatles – Here Comes the Sun (1969)

Alice Cooper – School’s Out (1972)

The Isley Brothers – Summer Breeze (1976)

The Ramones – Rockaway Beach (1977)

Rupert Holmes – Escape (1979)

DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince – Summertime (1997)

Supergrass – Sun Hits The Sky (1997)

Toto – Africa (1982)

Len – Steal My Sunshine (1999)

The Libertines – Don’t Look Back Into The Sun (2004)

Vampire Weekend – A-Punk (2008)

Jamie T – Chaka Demus (2009)

Arctic Monkeys – The Hellcat Spangled Sha La La (2011)

Foster The People – Helena Beat (2011)

First Aid Kit – Emmylou (2012)

Janelle Monae – Dance Apocalyptic (2013)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

